My Fantasy Beer Dinner 僕の空想の麦酒ディナー

I was just wondering what you folks would think might be the ultimate beer pairing dinner. The wife and I where thinking of talking about one on our pub cast so I thought I would get help from the best beer people in the world

Price is no option so go hog wild
pick a beer and food to go with it

course
1 appitizer
2 soup and/or salad
3 fish/seafood
4 main course meat
5. desert
6 after dinner drink.

Thanks for the help

Taelec, beeradvocate.com
This is a topic that was posted by a fellow Disciple on Beer Advocate earlier today. Spelling mistakes and punctuational inconsistencies notwithstanding, this is one of the most thought-provoking posts I’ve read in the Beer Advocate forums in a while. I spent literally an hour contemplating it at work today.

I took some liberties with the course order, but here is what I ultimately decided on for my ultimate fantasy beer dinner:

  1. Amuse-Bouche/Apertif
    Oil-Cured Moroccan Black Olives, Feta Cheese-Stuffed Manzanilla Olives, and Kalamata Olives
    Beer: New Glarus Enigma
  2. Hors D’oeuvre
    Monkfish Liver with Fresh Wasabi, Grated Ginger, and Ponzu
    Beer: La Fin Du Monde
  3. Soup
    Cream of Leek and Potato Soup with White Truffles, Cave-Aged Emmental, and Fresh Chives
    Beer: Spaten Optimator
  4. Seafood
    Charcoal-Grilled Miyajima Oysters with Yuzu-Green Chili Dressing
    Beer: Stone Smoked Porter or Guinness Extra Stout
  5. Sorbet
    Duchesse de Bourgogne Sorbet with Scandinavian Ginger Snaps
  6. Main Course
    Tea-Smoked Duck with Blackcurrant-Mustard Seed Sauce, Brussels Sprouts and Fennel Sauteed with Onions
    Beer: Trappist Westvleteren 12
  7. Salad
    Baby Spinach, Pomegranate Seeds, and Chevre with Aged Balsamic Vinegar and Sesame Oil Dressing
    Beer: Hitachino Nest White Ale
  8. Cheese
    One-Year Pleasant Ridge Premium Reserve, Shropshire Blue, and Six-Month Manchego with Candied Walnuts, Dried Figs, and Honeycrisp Apples
    Beer: Anchor Old Foghorn
  9. Dessert
    Bananas Foster with Hazelnut Gelato
    Beer: Rogue Shakespeare Stout or Hitachino Nest Espresso Stout
  10. Digestif
    North Coast Old Rasputin X, North Coast Old Stock Brandy Barrel Cellar Reserve, J.W. Lees Sherry Cask Harvest Ale, Stone Ruination, Samuel Adams Utopias, Dogfish Head Fort, or EKU 28

I can’t wait till I’m rich.

Thoughts?

5 thoughts on “My Fantasy Beer Dinner 僕の空想の麦酒ディナー

  1. MJP says:

    Are these full servings of beer? Granted I’m getting old but I don’t think I could make it to the Old Foghorn. If I did make it, that one would definitely kill me. Maybe half-glasses? I know, I know, I’m a wimp.

    This sounds wonderful.

  2. Tim says:

    Oh, I had envisioned this as four- to eight-ounce servings, like you’d have with wine. With the strength of some of these beers, I imagine I’d be too drunk to really appreciate what I was eating by the time I got around to the sorbet.

    What does the J stand for?

Leave a Reply

