New Yorker Cartoon No. 1 ニューヨーカーカートゥーン第一

Sometimes, inspiration and time-saving strategies collide in delightful ways. I’ve had a number of good ideas for cartoons recently, but since I’ve been busy working, commuting, and drinking real ales, I don’t have time for the elaborate, colorful illustrations I usually try to do. Then I realized that the gags I’d thought up would be perfect for the New Yorker, and that a simple, black-and-white visual style would be a perfect way to draw them! Behold: my first entry in what will be a series of submissions to the New Yorker*.

* Apparently, the New Yorker no longer accepts unsolicited submissions for cartoons. Well I say, hard cheese; I’m sending it to them anyway via a different department. They should be so lucky.

One thought on “New Yorker Cartoon No. 1 ニューヨーカーカートゥーン第一

  1. Meg says:

    How exciting! I hope the right hands get your submissions and you get published.

    Unrelated… there is an exhibit at the Tate Britain that you should go check out!

    Martin Creed’s Work No. 850 – Duveens Commission – http://www.tate.org.uk/britain/exhibitions/duveenscommission/default.shtm

    Also! Francis Bacon – http://www.tate.org.uk/britain/exhibitions/francisbacon/default.shtm

    And finally… have you encountered any Turkish Delights? I am very interested in them, but the rest of the US is not it seems. I hear they are popular, or at least more popular, in the UK. I have no idea if this is true though. It’s okay if you don’t know anything about them, it’s pretty silly.

Leave a Reply

