Independence Day

Independence Day has always been one of my favourite holidays, not because I’m particularly patriotic, but because there’s just so much to do. See the parade, eat some barbecue, set off (barely) controlled explosions, drink beer and sangria. Plus you aren’t obligated to spend all day with your family. I like my family but it’s nice to have options.

So when Peyton and Byrne, the people behind the National Cafe, asked me to cater an Independence Day supper, I was honoured, and eager to oblige – on one condition. In order to recreate fond memories of summers past, I said I’d do it only if they’d let me serve 100% authentic Wisconsin food. They loved the idea.

So what, exactly, is Wisconsin food? Well here’s the menu:

Welcome Drink
Pressure Drop Brewing Wisconsin Wheat Cranberry Hefeweizen

Cheese Ball
With Great Grandmother Casanova’s Beer Bread

Firecracker Chicken
Spicy Chicken Wings with Lime-Cilantro Slaw and Firecracker Seasoning

Beer Bratwurst
With Caramelized and Crispy Onions and Homemade Sauerkraut
Served with Mom’s Lime and Thyme Potato Salad and Grandma’s Orange Pecan Salad

Summer Berry Kringle

The only thing on here that isn’t something I actually grew up with is the Firecracker Chicken, but that dish is awesome, so there it is. The beer is a one-off brewed by Pressure Drop specifically for this event, and it is goddamn delicious. Oh and I’m not attributing dishes to my relatives just to be cute. They really are their recipes.

So if you’re not doing anything on Thursday, come check it out. It’s good food from a happy place.

Tickets and info here.

Leave a Reply

