#Cornography Day 45: Miso Ramen with Salmon and Shoyu-Butter Corn

image

I began by pan-roasting a couple fillets of salmon with butter. When the salmon was just cooked, I removed it from the pan and added corn. I cranked up the heat and let the corn brown, then added some shoyu and let it reduce to a sticky glaze. I then made a light broth from sardine dashi powder and mixed miso, brought it to a boil, and added some ramen (actually spelt noodles). Meanwhile I placed a little butter and grated yuzu peel in the bottom of ramen bowls. When the noodles were done, I transferred them, along with the broth, to the bowls and topped them with the corn, flaked salmon, spring onions, and sesame seeds. It was okay, but disappointing. The noodles lacked texture. The broth lacked depth. The whole thing lacked an acidic, pickly element. Not bad, but not my best work.

Leave a Reply

