#Cornography Day 73: Roast Poussin with Baked Succotash

I bought a poussin. Not sure why. I think it just stood out as something different. I intended to serve it with succotash, but since I was feeling tired and lazy, I wanted to do everything in one pot so I’d have fewer dishes to do. Hence: baked succotash, which worked extremely well.

image

I put olive oil pancetta lardons in a shallow casserole and let it render in a 200°C oven. I then added diced onion, red pepper, and courgette, along with corn, frozen soybeans, paprika, and salt. I seasoned the poussin with lots of Old Bay and set it atop the veg. I roasted everything for about 40 minutes. The poussin was succulent and supple, and it’s juices added a lovely meaty flavor to the succotash. It was full of colour and flavor and texture, and felt quite wholesome. I’d happily make succotash this way again.

image

4 thoughts on “#Cornography Day 73: Roast Poussin with Baked Succotash

Leave a Reply

