#Cornography Day 90 (THE END): Baked Salmon with Miso-Roasted Vegetables and Hyugarashi Corn Salsa

Well guys, this is it. The challenge is over. I’ve won the bet, and soon I’ll have a brand new used PlayStation 3 to show for it.

image

I had hoped to go out on a bang – cook something really special, maybe even a multi-course corn feast. But alas, my schedule has been a bit hectic lately, and having only arrived back in town from Germany this afternoon at 3:00, a big, complicated dinner just wasn’t going to happen. In fact, I didn’t even cook. Laura did. Or at least she mostly did. I made the corn part. Laura dressed cauliflower, broccoli, onions, and mushrooms with a light miso-and-oil mixture. They were then roasted at 200ºC for about 40 minutes. Meanwhile, she baked some salmon and I made a corn salsa: corn, Hyugarashi, and a little splash of fish sauce. It was a delight. The salsa was hot and tangy, a perfect foil to the oily fish and the sweet, rich vegetables.

image


In retrospect, this challenge was (mostly) a lot of fun. If there’s one important lesson to be learned from the whole thing, it’s that when you really focus on something, and look at it from all possible angles, that one thing can actually open up virtually limitless possibilities. I’ve done a lot with corn over the past three months. But really, I barely scratched the surface. To be honest, there are still canned corn dishes I actually want to try that I didn’t get around to making. The weirdest thing is, I’m not even really sick of it.

I also hope I’ve inspired some of you to revisit our old friend canned corn. It’s surprisingly good, and incredibly versatile. Even Laura has come around to it – maybe she’s acquired the taste, or maybe she’s just come to appreciate how many ways it can be made delicious. Today I’ve come up with a list of my top ten #cornography dishes, and I have to say, it wasn’t easy! There were many more hits than misses. But here they are:

Thanks to everyone for supporting me along the way, and for your concern about my digestive system (it’s fine).

Now then. I’m off to play some outdated video games! Adios, amigos.

2 thoughts on “#Cornography Day 90 (THE END): Baked Salmon with Miso-Roasted Vegetables and Hyugarashi Corn Salsa

Leave a Reply

